A Little Bit About Me & You Part 1 @ 8 and Part 2 @ 10-SOLD-OUT!

A Little Bit About Me & You Part 1 @ 8 and Part 2 @ 10-SOLD OUT!

SOLD OUT BOTH SHOWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Due to a lot of interest and awesomeness there will be two shows at the Odd Duck Studio, one at 8:00 pm and one at 10:00 pm

The show is titled “A Little Bit About Me and You”. It’s basically about growing up, about who I am, other random things most people might not know, and observations about Seattle. Also doing the show are The SheSpot improv group, Brook Selby, and Diana Hassenger, Maria Heinegg, Barbara Holms and Darius Emadi, and America Wow! Improv. I’m looking forward to working with them on the same show especially since we see each other often at random things; we have a great energy together. They’re all really talented, and I know will be a big hit!

—> THE 8:00 The SheSpot, Brook Selby, Diana Hassenger and Katie Morgan
**** SOLD OUT AS OF 1/28/2011 AT 10:30 A.M. 49 TICKETS IN 3 DAYS!!! WE SET A NEW RECORD FOR ECLECTIC THEATER COMPANY & THE ODD DUCK STUDIO AS FASTEST SELLING SHOW WITH A LITTLE UNDER A MONTH BEFORE THE SHOW!! THANKS TO EVERYONE FOR YOUR SUPPORT AND AWESOMENESS.

—> THE 10:00 Lauren Skelton, Maria Heinegg, Barbara Holm, Darius Emadi, America Wow! Imrov and Katie Morgan

Order Tickets for the 10:00 show by phone at 206-679-3721. $10
or online at http://www.brownpapertickets.com/event/154742

Co-produced by Eclectic Theater Company

Who am I? I am from Thomaston Georgia and have been living in Seattle since 2006. It was a choice between Seattle and Boston, and I chose Seattle because I felt like Boston folks had harsh-sounding accents. I am very happy here and cannot imagine living anywhere else. I feel like I’m just another comedian doing my thing here in Seattle; a little fish in a big pond full of talent! I think every comedian has their own style: some create personalities on stage, some tell one-liners, but I am more of a storyteller. How you see me onstage is exactly how I am offstage–just causal, acting like we’ve known each other forever. I believe most audiences appreciate someone just getting onstage and being “real”–nothing made up, just the feeling of a few people getting together at someone’s house hanging out and telling jokes.

How did I get started in Comedy? In a weird way I feel like I have been doing stand up all my life, but I never knew some would consider it a “gift”. I come from a funny family, and this is just how I was raised. It didn’t come clear to me that not everyone liked to laugh and joke around until I got two paddlings in the same day in kindergarten for talking and disturbing the class. So obviously some people don’t appreciate that “gift”. I guess I can officially say I got started in comedy back in October when Laura Turner and Lauren Skelton of The SheSpot asked if I would do a 5 minute spot for a fundraiser event. I did it just to prove to myself I could do it and then said I would “retire”. But the next morning I received an email from Ms. Diana Hassenger asking if I would like to come open for her the following week. I’ve been doing open mics and random shows since. Of course if you see me 3 hours before a show I will tell you, “this is my last one,” but then after I get off stage I’m looking for the next show.

Tell us more about your show at The Odd Duck Studio coming up? This is my first headliner show and I’m very excited about it. The show is titled “A Little Bit About Me and You”. The response has been overwhelming and awesome all wrapped up into one! We sold out the 8:00 show in three days and then added another show at 10:00 and have about 6 tickets left. The show is basically about growing up, about who I am, other random things most people might not know, and observations about Seattle. Also doing the show are The SheSpot Improv , Brook Selby, Diana Hassenger, Darius Emadi, Lauren Skelton, Maria Heinegg, Barbara Holm, and America WOW! Improv. I’m looking forward to working with them on the same show especially since we see each other often at random things; we have a great energy together. They’re all really talented, and I know will be a big hit!

Why I perform comedy? Like I said earlier, I feel like I’m the same way onstage as offstage and generally love just talking to people; so I guess that’s why I do it. Not because I feel like I have something extraordinary to say that others haven’t noticed. but more because I have something to say that someone else can relate to.

Where can you see me? You can see me at Comedy Underground most Monday nights, the Comedy Workshop here at the Odd Duck Studio on Thursday nights, and often on Friday nights at random open mics. Find me on Facebook: Katie Ruth Morgan; YouTube: Katiegator711; Twitter: KatieRuComedy; or email me at katieruth28@gmail.com . I’m looking forward to seeing new faces on February 25th at The Odd Duck show!

About eclectictheater

Eclectic Theater is a professional theatre company in Seattle, WA., dedicated to producing and presenting original, contemporary and classic works for the stage and screen. Plays, Improv, Stand-Up and Sketch Comedy and more! Eclectic Theater is powered by Shunpike. Shunpike is the 501(c)(3) non-profit agency that fuel innovation in the arts by building productive partnerships, cultivating leadership and providing direct services to arts groups of all kinds. Learn more at www.shunpike.org.
This entry was posted in comedy, eclectic theater company, Improv, odd duck studio, Stand-Up Comedy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

